CSM Advantage

The Columbia St. Mary's Family Medicine Residency is fully accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) with Osteopathic Recognition.

Columbia St. Mary’s has a distinguished tradition of providing quality, compassionate healthcare to southeastern Wisconsin for more than 165 years.

In 1848, St. Mary’s Hospital – the state’s first private hospital, was founded by the Daughters of Charity in response to identified community needs. In 1909, a small group of physicians and community leaders founded Columbia Hospital to provide additional patient care and encourage medical research and education. Joining together as Columbia St. Mary’s in 1995, the team of staff and physicians consist of the finest medical experts – many of whom are considered to be pioneers and visionaries in their field.

Nationally recognized faculty members include:

  • John Seidl, MD, pioneer in non-scalpel vasectomy
  • Dennis Butler, PhD, expert in post-traumatic stress disorder and stress management
  • Paul Koch, MD, OB Fellowship Trained, C-section privileges
  • Camille Garrison, MD, OB Fellowship Trained, C-section privileges
  • James Sanders, MD, international expert in treating victims of torture and recent recipient of a Fulbright Award.

Our affiliation with the Medical College of Wisconsin Department of Family and Community Medicine, known for advancing Family Medicine, affords you all the resources of a large tertiary academic medical center.